Symphony847: Slavonic Folktales

Gorton Community Center, 400 E Illinois Rd, Lake Forest


Tchaikovsky, Symphony No. 2 in c minor, "Ukrainian"

  1. Andante Sostenuto - Allegro vivo
  2. Andantino marziale, quasi moderato
  3. Scherzo: Allegro molto vivace
  4. Finale: Moderato assai - Allegro vivo

-- intermission --

McIntire, "Industrial Cityscape"

Stravinsky, "The Firebird Suite (1919)"

Description: Tchaikovsky composed his Symphony No. 2 while vacationing in Ukraine, and incorporated a number of Ukrainian folksongs into the score. The symphony’s mix of folk-like lyricism and dry, rhythmic drive made it a favorite of Igor Stravinsky, who often conducted the piece alongside his works. 

Stravinsky employed a similar mix of rhythmic drive and lyricism for his ballet score, The Firebird. Written in 1909, the ballet tells the story of Prince Ivan who defeats the evil Kastchei with the help of the magical firebird. 

This concert will also feature the World Premiere of Industrial Cityscape by Shawn McIntire.

Tickets are $20 (Children 12 and under are free)